Nice to Come Home to

Nice to Come Home to

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Penguin Putnam
A funny, entertaining novel of love and family for our times: a single woman who fears she's lost her chance at a family of her own, begins to accumulate an ad hoc one around her.

In the tradition of Elinor Lipman or Marisa de los Santos (Love Walked In), Flowers delivers a smart, witty, appealing story of love, family, and community that breaks the mold of the conventional love story-and will have readers cheering.

Everyone around Prudence Whistler, thirty-six, seems to be settling down. Her once single girlfriends have married and had babies. Her gay best friend is discussing marriage with his partner. Even her irresponsible younger sister, Patsy, is the single mother of a two-year-old. But when Pru panics at losing her mediocre boyfriend of two years-and begins to see the door to her traditional family life closing-she accidentally finds something even better: a new definition of family and happiness. First, it's the crazy cat who moves into her apartment. Then come Pru's headstrong sister and two-year-old niece. Then the niece's dog, the sister's ex-boyfriend, and, ultimately, Patsy and Pru's widowed mother. With the strength of her modern new household, Pru musters the confidence to open the dress shop she's always wanted in town-and discovers an extended family of sorts in the community of shop owners and devoted customers. It's only then that she ends up with the man of her dreams. Endearing, romantic, and satisfying, Nice to Come Home To is a charming, crowd-pleasing debut.

Baker & Taylor
Panicking when her relationship with a mediocre boyfriend ends at the same time her friends are committing to marriage and parenthood, Prudence Whistler redefines her concepts of happiness when she opens her home to her dysfunctional family.

Blackwell North Amer
Prudence Whistler is standing in the lobby of the Connecticut Avenue Sheraton when she sees the woman she's supposed to be by now. Pru can't help staring as a tall, broad-shouldered, and very pregnant blond comes striding by two little girls and a handsome husband in tow. Glowing and full of purpose, the woman looks so much like Pru she could be her twin - except, of course, for the fact that Pru, at thirty-six, is still single and childless. She's also recently unemployed and her best bet for marital bliss is oddly preoccupied with his frequent psychotherapy sessions. Blinking in bewilderment, Pru wonders what happened to the life she's planned.
In short order, Pru has lost not only her job, but also her boyfriend, her prospects for motherhood, and her self-confidence. Her future is uncertain, her life is in turmoil, and her ex's abandoned cat eats her sweaters while she's out. But who would guess that the worst week of her life could turn out to be the best thing that ever happened to her?
Fearing that she's lost her chance at a traditional family, Pru sets about changing her life, and in so doing begins to unconsciously gather an ad hoc family of colorful characters, both within her crowded apartment and in her broader community: Washington, D.C.'s funky Adams Morgan neighborhood. What she discovers in the process is a timeless lesson: that the best life may not actually be the one we've planned for. With the encouragement of her nontraditional new household, Pru is finally able to realize her dreams for a dress shop and gain a new understanding of family and happiness - one that just may deliver true love in the bargain.

Baker
& Taylor

Panicking when her two-year relationship with a mediocre boyfriend ends at the same time her friends are committing to marriage and parenthood, thirty-six-year-old Prudence Whistler finds herself redefining her concepts of family and happiness when she opens her home to her dysfunctional family and launches a dress shop. 25,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Riverhead Books, 2008
ISBN: 9781594489617
1594489610
Characteristics: 324 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
EKMiller
Jun 10, 2011

I inhaled this book over a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. It has such a beautiful storyline and the characters are so real. Ms. Flowers knows how to tell a story and bring you into her characters' world.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FSJPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top